List of All Countries in Oceania

Oceania, which lies both above and below the equator, covers an area of 8,971,000 square kilometers, accounting for 6% of the global land area. As the smallest continent, Oceania was named by the Danish geographer Malte, with the name meaning “ocean in the land”. The continent has a total of fourteen independent countries and eleven territories, with a combined population of about 52.25 million. Residents are mainly descendants of European settlers and indigenous people, and most speak English. Residents of the three island groups of Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia also speak local languages, with most people believing in Christianity.

Countries in Oceania by Population

Currently, there are 14 independent countries in Oceania. Among them, the most populous country is Australia and the least is Nauru. The full list of countries in Oceania is shown in the table below, with latest total population.

Rank Independent Country Current Population Subregion
1 Australia 25,399,300 Australasia
2 Papua New Guinea 8,558,800 Melanesia
3 New Zealand 4,968,530 Polynesia
4 Fiji 884,887 Melanesia
5 Solomon Islands 680,806 Melanesia
6 Vanuatu 304,500 Melanesia
7 Samoa 200,874 Polynesia
8 Kiribati 120,100 Micronesia
9 Federated States of Micronesia 105,300 Micronesia
10 Tonga 100,300 Polynesia
11 Marshall Islands 55,500 Micronesia
12 Palau 17,900 Micronesia
13 Nauru 11,000 Micronesia
14 Tuvalu 10,200 Polynesia

Territories in Oceania by Population

The list of all 11 territories is shown in the table below, with latest total population and dependencies.

Rank Dependent Territory Current Population Territory of
1 New Caledonia 282,200 France
2 French Polynesia 275,918 France
3 Guam 172,400 United States
4 American Samoa 56,700 United States
5 Northern Mariana Islands 56,200 United States
6 Cook Islands 15,200 New Zealand
7 Wallis and Futuna 11,700 France
8 Norfolk Island 1,756 Australia
9 Niue 1,520 New Zealand
10 Tokelau 1,400 New Zealand
11 Pitcairn Islands 50 United Kingdom

Map of Regions and Countries in Oceania

The boundaries of Oceania are defined in several ways. Most definitions recognize parts of Australasia Such as Australia, New Zealand and new Guinea, and part of the Malay Archipelago as parts of Oceania. On the following map, you can see four regions of Oceania: Australasia, Micronesia, Melanesia and Polynesia.

Map of Oceania Countries

Oceania Countries by Area

Below is a list of all the Oceania countries, in order of land area size. Australia is the biggest country while Nauru is the smallest one.

Ranking Country Name Land Area (km²)
1 Australia 7,692,024
2 Papua New Guinea 462,840
3 New Zealand 270,467
4 Solomon Islands 28,896
5 Fiji 18,274
6 Vanuatu 12,189
7 Samoa 2,831
8 Kiribati 811
9 Tonga 747
10 Micronesia 702
11 Palau 459
12 Marshall Islands 181
13 Tuvalu 26
14 Nauru 21

Alphabetical List of Countries and Dependencies in Oceania

In summary, there are a total of 25 independent countries and dependent territories in Oceania. See the following for full list of countries and dependencies of Australia in alphabetical order:

  1. American Samoa (United States)
  2. Australia
  3. Cook Islands (New Zealand)
  4. Fiji
  5. French Polynesia (France)
  6. Guam (United States)
  7. Kiribati
  8. Marshall Islands
  9. Micronesia
  10. Nauru
  11. New Caledonia (France)
  12. New Zealand
  13. Niue (New Zealand)
  14. Norfolk Island (Australia)
  15. Northern Mariana Islands (United States)
  16. Palau
  17. Papua New Guinea
  18. Pitcairn Islands (United Kingdom)
  19. Samoa
  20. Solomon Islands
  21. Tokelau (New Zealand)
  22. Tonga
  23. Tuvalu
  24. Vanuatu
  25. Wallis and Futuna (France)