List of All Countries in North America

The North America is a subcontinent formed by 23 countries, a part of the American continent that has a total of 37 countries. Among them, the United States – the greatest power in the world after China – and Canada – second largest country in the world – have the greatest extension of the frontier existing on the planet. Mexico stands out economically; it is one of the largest economies in the World Government Bond Index (WGBI), a reference index for the market. Greenland is, by turn, the largest island in the world.

Major Countries in North America


  • Capital: Ottawa
  • Territorial extension: 9.984.670 km2
  • Language: English and French
  • Currency: canadian Dollar

The Canada consists of 10 provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan, and 3 territories – Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.

The United states of America

  • Capital: Washington
  • Territorial extension: 9.831.510 km2
  • Language: English
  • Currency: us Dollar

The United States have 50 states, which are represented in the fifty stars of the flag of this nation. They are: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, California, North Carolina, South Carolina, Colorado, Connecticut, North Dakota, South Dakota, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Rhodes Island, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, new Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


  • Capital: Nuuk
  • Territorial extension: 2.166.086 km2
  • Language: Language groenlandesa
  • Currency: Danish krone

The Greenland is divided into 3 counties: Greenland West, Greenland Oridental and Greenland Northern.


  • Capital: Mexico City
  • Territorial extension: 1.964.380 km2
  • Language: Spanish
  • Currency: mexican Peso

The Mexico is divided into 31 states: Aguascalientes, baja California, baja California South Campeche, Chiapas, Chiuaua, Coahuila de Zaragoza, Colima, Durango, Guanajuato, Guerrero, Hidalgo, Jalisco, State of Mexico, Michoacán de Ocampo, Morelos, Nayarit, New Lion, Mexico Town, Queretaro de Arteaga, Quintana Roo, San Luis Potosí, Sinaloa, Sonora, Tabasco, Tamaulipas, Tlaxcala, Veracruz, Yucatan and Zaratecas.

All Countries in North America

Below you can find an alphabetical list of all 23 independent countries of North America from Antigua and Barbuda to United States.

Map of Countries in North America

As noted above, North America is a subcontinent comprising the northern portion of the American continent. There are two ways to classify this continent: the first considers that North America is only the northernmost part of America, separated from Central America on the border between Mexico and Guatemala, the second classification recognizes only one North America and one South America, tracing the boundary in the Isthmus of Panama (sometimes in the Panama Canal, others on the border between Panama and Colombia). By the last definition, North America would include continental and insular Central America (Caribbean).

Map of North American Countries