List of All Countries in European Union

A union consisting of more than a dozen of countries, which make commercial transactions using a single currency – Euro – and whose interests are represented by common institutions. This new Europe began to gain body in December 1991, when the 12 member countries of the European Union concluded The Maastricht Treaty, which aimed at the political, economic/Economic and monetary Union of the participants, without closing space for new accessions.

Through this agreement, Germany, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and the United Kingdom began the journey of European integration. Austria, Finland and Sweden are three of the newest members and several other countries have already entered their application for accession.

The European Economic Community (EEC) or European Common Market (MCE) was the embryo of the current European Union (EU). Its member countries are: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, the United Kingdom and Sweden.

In 1957, the entity consisted only of Germany, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. In 1973, Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom were joined; In 1981, Greece, and 1986, Spain and Portugal. In 1995, the so-called Europe of the Twelve grew even more, gaining the accession of Austria, Finland and Sweden.

From 1994 onwards, the member states of the European Economic Community, which then adopted the name of the European Union, would integrate to form a single market, where customs systems would be abolished and the different rates of restrictions on trade, services and the movement of capital. This would mean, among other things, that the inhabitants of the European Union would have free transit in all member countries, including for work; taxes would be gradually unified and there would be free access to the goods and services of all member countries within the community.

Since 1995, in order to facilitate the movement of people in some European Union countries, an agreement has entered into force between Portugal, Spain, France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and Germany to remove the customs barriers and the obligation of presentation of the passport between these countries. This area was named Schengen, taken from the Luxembourgaran city where the agreement was signed.

In the sense of economic/economic integration, another important step would be the use of a common currency. The ECU (European Currency Unity) circulated, since 1993, as a standard in financial transactions and, despite the disagreement of some members, it was intended that, gradually, it was adopted in the daily operations up to 1999, when the Euro has entered into force as a scriptural currency and as official currency since 2002.

All the countries that are part of the European Union have developed economies, although there are extraordinary differences between them, such As between Ireland and Germany, for example, or Greece and In Denmark. The goal, however, is to reduce these contrasts, making the community increasingly homogeneous.

Despite the common goals, there are divergences between the member countries of the European Union and the friction and necessary adjustments are frequent to ensure that these goals are implemented. The year 1994 was evidence for the integrity of the European Union, as there were plebiscites in the countries to ratify its objectives and to confirm or not to join the union.

In Denmark and the UK, opinions were very divided, but community support prevailed. In Norway, however, its population decided not to join the European Union, despite the request for membership previously made.

All Countries in European Union

As of 2019, the European Union has 28 member countries. The following is a full list of EU countries (with dates of accession) in alphabetical order.  Please note that, the number of member countries may be increasing in near future.

  1. Austria (January 1, 1995)
  2. Belgium (March 25, 1957)
  3. Bulgaria (January 1, 2007)
  4. Croatia (July 1, 2013)
  5. Cyprus (May 1, 2004)
  6. Czech Republic (May 1, 2004)
  7. Denmark (January 1, 1973)
  8. Estonia (May 1, 2004)
  9. Finland (January 1, 1995)
  10. France (March 25, 1957)
  11. Germany (March 25, 1957)
  12. Greece (January 1, 1981)
  13. Hungary (May 1, 2004)
  14. Ireland (January 1, 1973)
  15. Italy (March 25, 1957)
  16. Latvia (May 1, 2004)
  17. Lithuania (May 1, 2004)
  18. Luxembourg (March 25, 1957)
  19. Malta (May 1, 2004)
  20. Netherlands (March 25, 1957)
  21. Poland (May 1, 2004)
  22. Portugal (January 1, 1986)
  23. Romania (January 1, 2007)
  24. Slovakia (May 1, 2004)
  25. Slovenia (May 1, 2004)
  26. Spain (January 1, 1986)
  27. Sweden (January 1, 1995)
  28. United Kingdom (January 1, 1973)

Map of Countries in European Unions