Your are here: Countries in the World > Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands - Birds transit
The Solomon Islands, comprised of over 900 islands, are located in the southwest Pacific, covering an area of 2.8369 million square kilometers. With a population of 480,000, the vast majority (93%) are Melanesian, with Protestantism and Catholic the main religions. The official language is English, although common pigeon languages are also spoken. The currency is the Solomon Islands dollars and the capital is Honiara. Solomon Islands Map

National Flag

Solomon Islands Flag

The Solomon Islands’ flag contains the colors blue, yellow, and green, with five white stars to the top left of the flag. Blue symbolizes the sky and the sea blue, yellow symbolizes the sun, and green represents the island's forests. The five stars symbolize the island's five regions: East, West, Central, Malaita, and other outlying islands.


People lived on the Solomon Islands as early as 3000 years ago. In 1568 it was discovered by the Spanish and named Hou Helan. After the Spanish it was also occupied by Germany, and Britain, as well as other settlers.. In 1885, North Solomon became a German protectorate, but was transferred to the United Kingdom that same year. In 1893, it became the British Solomon Islands protectorate, but was later occupied by the Japanese during World War II. In 1976, the islands established an internal self-government, and on July 7, 1978, independence was declared, with the Solomon Islands becoming part of the.

Economy and Cultural Customs

More than 90% of the land is covered by forest, and the islands see an abundance of birds, with many different species migrating from Alaska and North Siberia, stopping off on the islands on their way south to Australia and New Zealand. The Solomon Islands are a good places to rest, and has earned the reputation the "bird transfer station.". The coasts are flat and the sea is clear and transparent, with good visibility. As such, it is regarded as the one of the world’s best diving areas.

Read more: