Your are here: Countries in the World > Micronesia


Federated States of Micronesia
The Federated States of Micronesia, located in the North Pacific, the Caroline Islands covers an area of 702 square kilometers. It has a population of about 119,000, most of whom are Melanesian. Residents are Catholic or Protestant, and English is the official language. The currency is the U.S. dollar and the capital is Palikir. Micronesia Map

National Flag

Micronesia Flag

The flag of the Federated States of Micronesia flag is light blue, trimmed with four white five-pointed star in the center. The light blue of the flag symbolizes the country's vast area, and the stars represent the country's four states.


The islands were discovered by European in the 16th century, and in 1885 were occupied by Spain, later being transferred to Germany in 1899. Japan later seized the islands, but during World War II they became occupied by the U.S.. In 1947, hosted by the United Nations to the United States. Federated States of Micronesia was established in 1979. In 1986 the Interior, Foreign ownership, security and defense by the United States is responsible for. In 1991 the United Nations.

Economy and Cultural Customs

The economy is dominated by agriculture, which provides work for the majority of the people. The main crops include coconut, pepper, taro, breadfruit and other agricultural products. There are also rich fishery resources, particularly tuna, shellfish, turtles, and sea cucumber.

Read more: