Your are here: Countries in the World > Lesotho


The Kingdom of Lesotho is located in southeastern Africa, covering an area of 30,340 square kilometers. It has a population of 2.1 million, most of whom are black Bantus of the Basuto or Zulu tribe. Residents are predominantly Protestant or Catholic, with English and Lesotho being the most common languages. The currency is the Loti and the capital is Maseru. Lesotho Map

National Flag

Lesotho Flag

Lesotho’s national flag is white, blue, and green with a brown emblem on the left. The white symbolizes peace and purity, the green represents pastures and crops, and the blue stands for the rivers and the sky.


Now independent, Lesotho was formerly known as Basutoland. In the 19th century the Basuto clan chief Moshoeshoe I unified the country and established the kingdom. In 1868, the British declared Basutoland as part of protectorate, and in 1871 incorporated it in to the British Cape Colony in South Africa. On October 4, 1966, the country declared independence, and is now known as the Kingdom of Lesotho, a constitutional monarchy.

Economy and Cultural Customs

Lesotho is a agricultural country, with few natural resources, and a poor economy. As such, it is one of the world's least developed countries, with farming as the mainstay of its economy. Vast grasslands account for 66% of land area, and the national income mainly comes from remittances, tariff revenue, and the construction and garment processing industry.

Read more: