Your are here: Countries in the World > Brunei


Brunei - the country floats on oil
Brunei is in Southeast Asia, on the northern island of Kalimantan, also known as Brunei Darussalam. The country occupies an area of 5765 square km and has a population of 348,000. 676% of the population is Malay; the rest is Chinese, Dayak, Indians and others. Many residents believe the state religion of Islam. Malay is the official language, Mandarin and English are also spoken. Currency is the Brunei Dollar. Seri Begawan (Bandar seri Begawan) is the capital. Brunei Map

National Flag

Brunei Flag
The flag is yellow, crossed with black and white stripes and a central painted emblem. Yellow represents the supremacy of the Sudan. Black and white stripes symbolized the two active Wales.

In the 15th century, Islam spread with the establishment of the Sultanate. From the mid-16th century onwards, Portugal, Spain, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom invaded Brunei. In 1888, Brunei became a British "protectorate." In 1941, it was occupied by Japan. In 1946, the British resumed control of Brunei. In 1959, Brunei signed an agreement with Britain to provide that national defense, security, and foreign affairs would be managed by the British, with other services managed by Sudan. The agreement was re-signed with Britain in 1971, providing that Britain would have authority over part of foreign affairs and affairs of national defense, while Sudan would resume the exercise of internal autonomy. On January 1, 1984, Brunei announced its full independence.

Economic and Cultural Customs
Oil and natural gas are Brunei's economic pillars, enriching people's lives; Brunei is said to be the "South Seas Paradise." Oil and gas extraction and refining is the main industrial sector, with modern refineries and chemical plants. The second wave of construction is new industry,s including food processing, furniture manufacturing, ceramics, and textiles.

Read more: